Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

waldelb
Starter
Starter
Berichten: 2
Lid geworden op: 24 Mar 2020

Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor waldelb » 24 Mar 2020, 22:50

Hello,

First: Sorry for writing English. I understand a bit Dutch but I am not that good at writing.

I have a Fritzbox 7360. Updates stopped a year ago, thats why I want to change the system to OpenWrt. I found this thread: https://nl.forum.proximus.be/archieven- ... aten-38493
If I understand it correctly, not every router/modem will work with Proximus. My router/modem is currently working - but will it work if I change the system to OpenWrt?
What would I have to configure?

Thanks for help!

EDIT: I do not want to use the B-Box. I have VDSL2 G.Vector.

Gebruikersavatar
Sinna
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 1956
Lid geworden op: 14 Nov 2008
Locatie: Brugge
Bedankt: 127 keer
Recent bedankt: 2 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 135 keer

Re: Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor Sinna » 25 Mar 2020, 06:59

Even if you would succeed to flash OpenWRT on the Fritz!Box, you'll be on a repair profile as Proximus uses whitelisting for the devices allowed on its network. For Fritz!Boxes the number of devices supported is limited and the device must run specific VDSL drivers.

If you don't want to use the BBox, please buy yourself a supported device. You can find the list on the edpnet Help & Support page Which modems can I use.
Computer(k)nul

waldelb
Starter
Starter
Berichten: 2
Lid geworden op: 24 Mar 2020

Re: Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor waldelb » 25 Mar 2020, 08:29

Thanks for your reply!

What exacly does "repair profile" mean?

I am a bit worried about these FritzOS versions because they are outdated for a long time. I am worried that they might have security issues.

Gebruikersavatar
Sinna
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 1956
Lid geworden op: 14 Nov 2008
Locatie: Brugge
Bedankt: 127 keer
Recent bedankt: 2 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 135 keer

Re: Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor Sinna » 25 Mar 2020, 09:13

Repair profile means that the speed is limited to 9Mbps down, 512Kbps up (source).

About your worries about the Fritz!OS versions: if you're using a device that's end-of-life, you risk to use a device that may have security issues. That's not only a Fritz! thing and Fritz! is in my opinion one of the few that supports their devices very long time. That's why I suggested to buy yourself another Fritz!Box.
Computer(k)nul

Jack Daniels
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 6018
Lid geworden op: 06 Jul 2008
Locatie: Dendermonde
Bedankt: 639 keer
Recent bedankt: 9 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 287 keer

Re: Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor Jack Daniels » 25 Mar 2020, 09:29

I have a Fritzbox 7490 for sale on this forum. This one can be used with Proximus vdsl. Has very recent firmware (7.12). The FB 7490 is whitelisted by Proximus.
MacMini - Vu+ Zero - Fritz!Box 7490 + VoIP - 12x Sunpower 318 zonnepanelen

dior dna
Plus Member
Plus Member
Berichten: 210
Lid geworden op: 17 Sep 2014
Bedankt: 7 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 163 keer

Re: Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor dior dna » 03 Mei 2020, 21:02

Sinna schreef:Even if you would succeed to flash OpenWRT on the Fritz!Box, you'll be on a repair profile as Proximus uses whitelisting for the devices allowed on its network. For Fritz!Boxes the number of devices supported is limited and the device must run specific VDSL drivers.

If you don't want to use the BBox, please buy yourself a supported device. You can find the list on the edpnet Help & Support page Which modems can I use.


One can of course use a whitelisted BBox or Fritz!Box as modem and run an OpenWRT router behind it. I am also interested in OpenWRT on Fritz!Box (7490), but for other porposes (extra access point and maybe openhab server).

OpenWRT on 7490 seems still work in progress (no official build). Some 7360 do have an official OpenWRT build if I am not mistaken. Some functionality may be missing (DSL perhaps?) but using it as router or access point might very well work. See OpenWRT forums and downloads.
https://downloads.openwrt.org/releases/ ... iq/xrx200/

Gebruikersavatar
honda4life
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 4897
Lid geworden op: 03 Jan 2010
Locatie: 127.0.0.1
Bedankt: 274 keer
Recent bedankt: 5 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 159 keer

Re: Use OpenWrt on Fritzbox - is that possible?

Berichtdoor honda4life » 03 Mei 2020, 21:50

Even not updated a 7360v1 is not that bad.
I think OpenWrt never supports a modem also.

You can find 7490 for about 50€ if you're not in a hurry.
✂ – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –


Terug naar “Proximus (Belgacom, Skynet)”

Wie is er online

Gebruikers op dit forum: Geen geregistreerde gebruikers en 1 gast