Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

sociableorg
Starter
Starter
Berichten: 7
Lid geworden op: 13 Jul 2015
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 2 keer

Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor sociableorg » 08 Mei 2018, 23:23

Hi Belgacom/Proximus gurus - I just moved houses and got connected with a DSL connection. I have an old Sagemcom CS50001 from my old place. The technician connected the modem and looks like internet connectivity is achieved. However the DL and UL speeds are pretty bad. I suspect some bad internal wiring resulting in lots of dropped packets (lossy DSL line). Is there a way to troubleshoot if the issue is inside my apartment? Thanks for any pointers!

Here is my output from the Sagem tool.

Code: Selecteer alles

B-Box 3 Sagem Tool v0.13.0
--------------------------
Device:                        B-Box 3 Sagem

Downstream current bit rate:   2,758 kbps
Upstream current bit rate:     3,046 kbps

Downstream max bit rate:       10,282 kbps
Upstream max bit rate:         3,266 kbps

Downstream attenuation:        44.4 dB

Downstream noise margin:       10.4 dB
Upstream noise margin:         6.5 dB

Vectoring down:                no
Vectoring up:                  no
Modem vectoring compatible:    yes
ROP vectoring compatible:      no

DSL standard:                  VDSL2 Annex B
DSL profile:                   8d
Estimated distance:            861 m

Proximus profile name:         unknown
Proximus DLM profile:          unknown
Proximus repair profile:       unknown

fvhbrugge
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 1351
Lid geworden op: 23 Nov 2008
Bedankt: 107 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 95 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor fvhbrugge » 09 Mei 2018, 06:57

what is speed result indicated here :

https://www.proximus.be/en/id_speedtest ... tml#/input

Gebruikersavatar
Sinna
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 1360
Lid geworden op: 14 Nov 2008
Locatie: Brugge
Bedankt: 84 keer
Recent bedankt: 2 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 74 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor Sinna » 09 Mei 2018, 07:53

You're using a non-approved DSL modem. Chances are high that you get better results (if the URL posted by fvhbrugge indicates higher speeds are achievable). If you have a Proximus subscription, you should get a BBox3 'free-of-charge'.
Computer(k)nul

sociableorg
Starter
Starter
Berichten: 7
Lid geworden op: 13 Jul 2015
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 2 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor sociableorg » 09 Mei 2018, 08:32

Thanks for the quick replies. I do have the BBOX-3 (CS50001 is a BBOX-3 AFAIK). I have figured out part of the problem I think. I was using an 'ethernet over powerline' adapter in an electrical socket that was right next to the the DSL/phone jack (RJ11 socket). To further complicate things, I had the power cable from the DSL modem going into the same electrical socket. There seems to be some interference introduced. I unplugged the 'ethernet over powerline' power adapter and now the attenuation and DL/UL speeds seem in a normal range. Thanks once again.

Code: Selecteer alles

B-Box 3 Sagem Tool v0.13.0
--------------------------
Device:                        B-Box 3 Sagem

Downstream current bit rate:   16,559 kbps
Upstream current bit rate:     3,046 kbps

Downstream max bit rate:       24,425 kbps
Upstream max bit rate:         4,586 kbps

Downstream attenuation:        17.6 dB

Downstream noise margin:       10.6 dB
Upstream noise margin:         9.5 dB

Vectoring down:                no
Vectoring up:                  no
Modem vectoring compatible:    yes
ROP vectoring compatible:      no

DSL standard:                  VDSL2 Annex B
DSL profile:                   8d
Estimated distance:            583 m

Proximus profile name:         16,5/3
Proximus DLM profile:          yes
Proximus repair profile:       no

Gebruikersavatar
raf1
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 4096
Lid geworden op: 17 Nov 2009
Bedankt: 1369 keer
Recent bedankt: 12 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 227 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor raf1 » 09 Mei 2018, 08:53

sociableorg schreef:Is there a way to troubleshoot if the issue is inside my apartment?

Downstream attenuation is too high to get a better download speed.

First check the attainable speeds at your address: http://linetest.be and https://proximus.be/internetspeed

If attainable speed are higher than what you got, you should check your modem and your indoor wiring:
- connect your modem always directly to the Proximus NTP2007-socket
- use a Bbox3, FRITZ!Box 7360 v2 or FRITZ!Box 7490 to get the highest possible speeds
- check downstream and upstream attenuation with another modem
- disconnect and insulate unused wires from the indoor telephony/dsl network
- unfix connections from the Proximus NTP2007-socket, sand the copper ends and tighten the connections again

and NEVER USE POWERLINE ADAPTERS for internal network, always use UTP cat 5e cabling or Wifi

Gebruikersavatar
Sinna
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 1360
Lid geworden op: 14 Nov 2008
Locatie: Brugge
Bedankt: 84 keer
Recent bedankt: 2 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 74 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor Sinna » 09 Mei 2018, 10:28

sociableorg schreef:I do have the BBOX-3 (CS50001 is a BBOX-3 AFAIK)

My bad, I based my assumption on slightly different pictures. You're correct.
Computer(k)nul

sociableorg
Starter
Starter
Berichten: 7
Lid geworden op: 13 Jul 2015
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 2 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor sociableorg » 09 Mei 2018, 11:27

raf1 schreef:
sociableorg schreef:Is there a way to troubleshoot if the issue is inside my apartment?

Downstream attenuation is too high to get a better download speed.

First check the attainable speeds at your address: http://linetest.be and https://proximus.be/internetspeed

If attainable speed are higher than what you got, you should check your modem and your indoor wiring:
- connect your modem always directly to the Proximus NTP2007-socket
- use a Bbox3, FRITZ!Box 7360 v2 or FRITZ!Box 7490 to get the highest possible speeds
- check downstream and upstream attenuation with another modem
- disconnect and insulate unused wires from the indoor telephony/dsl network
- unfix connections from the Proximus NTP2007-socket, sand the copper ends and tighten the connections again

and NEVER USE POWERLINE ADAPTERS for internal network, always use UTP cat 5e cabling or Wifi


Thanks for the detailed reply. I am trying to avoid using these powerline adapters, but running CAT5e all over the apartment seems really cumbersome. I am going to try and position the BBOX-3 for better Wifi reach.

Gebruikersavatar
MClaeys
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 4885
Lid geworden op: 16 Feb 2011
Bedankt: 278 keer
Recent bedankt: 3 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 306 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor MClaeys » 09 Mei 2018, 11:40

A decent powerline adapter shouldn't give any issues though. I've worked years at home with the modem plugged into a powerline adapter that was plugged in within a few cm of the NTP2007, never had any issues with it, I got the speeds that were expected at my place. Mine were from Devolo.
Xbox Live: MClaeys

Gebruikersavatar
raf1
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 4096
Lid geworden op: 17 Nov 2009
Bedankt: 1369 keer
Recent bedankt: 12 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 227 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor raf1 » 09 Mei 2018, 12:08

MClaeys schreef:A decent powerline adapter shouldn't give any issues though.

That's only true if you have a decent electrical installation in your building with proper wiring and grounding.

wied
Elite Poster
Elite Poster
Berichten: 3713
Lid geworden op: 28 Okt 2011
Locatie: 'tstad
Bedankt: 197 keer
Uitgedeelde bedankjes: 293 keer

Re: Low DSL speeds (proximus) at new place *sorry about the English language post*

Berichtdoor wied » 09 Mei 2018, 12:18

For flat/appartment locations the use of Proximus wifi bridges is probably more stable/reliable...
Proximus Start, OVH/Tempo Easy, Scarlet Red, Netflix, Hb+Astra1&2...


Terug naar “Proximus (Belgacom, Skynet)”

Wie is er online

Gebruikers op dit forum: Geen geregistreerde gebruikers en 2 gasten